Knausgaard in the Paris Review

Karl Ove Knausgard

Karl Ove Knausgaard’s autobiography, My Struggle, stretches over 6 volumes. According to the Winter issue of the Paris Review, in which James Wood interviews the author, about 1 in 10 Norwegians own a copy of the book. This is instructive for me, as the manuscript of my as-yet unpublished memoir, Beautiful On The Outside, currently clocks in at 11 volumes (give or take 2 or 3). Once I secure a publisher, I expect 9 out of 10 human beings to purchase it.

In the interview, Knausgaard says:

I try to imagine a world without words, a world without language, and the world collapses. It’s nothing. It’s chaos. Language is the thing that makes the world, and it’s the thing that makes the world disappear. Writing is a kind of ongoing struggle to renew the world.

I concur. That is why my world is chic, extremely hairy, and full of sandwiches. You can quote me on that.

 

Leave a Reply

