Read Winner of 3rd Place in Monster #Lit Contest

I hope you have not forgotten, dear reader, about the 2014 Inaugural Prose Positive Monster Fiction Contest? Well, to jog your memory, here is our innovative 3rd place winner, from a Mlle. Alfaleh. She submitted an epistolary flash fiction after Mary Shelley, Jane Austen, Bram Stoker, etc. Feel the pathos! It is almost perfect, except that it has nothing whatsoever to do with monsters, bigfoots, or legendary bipeds of any kind. Also, there was no cover letter attached. Oh well. As the saying goes, “You can’t win ’em all.” Too true. Nadia, if you are reading this, please email me to arrange for that handshake I promised (not so sure about the trustee matter, though). Read below and enjoy.

Subject: I WILL BE GLAD TO READ FROM YOU ASAP

Date: 7/21/14 at 2:21 pm

Hi,

I found it very difficult to disclose the information I revealed below. How are you today? I hope you are DeathtoStock_Wired3doing well, together with your family and beloved ones. I am 23 years old girl and I need of an honest and trustworthy person to enter into personal/business relationship with.

I am of multi ethnic race, my father is from Syria but his origin is Russia an oil merchant and my Mother is from Venezuela. My mom died when I was 18 years old and my father just died in midst of Syria political violence,

After the death of my father his lawyer handed over to me some documents concerning. a deposit he made in a Bank in African country Benin Republic valued US$58,000,000.

The lawyer told me that there is a ruling instruction from my father to the bank that before they should release the funds to me that I must have a TRUSTEE to help me secure and manage the funds.

If this message meets your interest, please indicate by sending me your full names, telephone, age, country of origin and nationality. Find attached my pics.

Hoping to hear from you soonest

Yours Sincerely
Ms. NADIA ALFALEH

Leave a Reply

